Wednesday, June 28, 2017

The Halloween Children by Brian James Freeman & Norman Prentiss

Hydra / Random House eBook Publication Date: June 13, 2017


The Halloween Children
is frankly one of the more disturbing books I have ever read. From page to page my opinion of who was the monster behind what was going on changed from husband to wife to the children and then back. I was shocked and startled, grossed out and horrified – and I enjoyed every minute of it. And in the end, I still wasn’t sure who was the craziest – myself included. Freeman and Prentiss have created a disturbing tale with images so vivid they leapt from the page into brilliantly colored pictures in the mind. This is one powerful book. Treat yourself to this one for Halloween but be warned – have plenty of candy on hand for The Halloween Children should come knocking.

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Jerry Lewis, rebel clown to be shown on ARTE Sunday night


First off, for my Freench speaking readers - especially those in Europe.

Toute l'équipe de French Connection Films est heureuse de vous annoncer la diffusion ce dimanche 18 juin à 22 h 50 sur ARTE du film documentaire "Jerry Lewis, clown rebelle " de Gregory Monro.

Un film réjouissant réalisé avec rythme et brio !

A travers des archives rares, de nombreux extraits de films, des témoignages d'amis et d'experts, et un entretien exceptionnel avec Jerry lui-même, (re)découvrez le parcours et la filmographie de ce grand comique américain ... dont le talent de cinéaste visionnaire, boudé par le public américain, a été révélé par les critiques et cinéastes français de la Nouvelle Vague !

Télérama Images intégrées 1 :
Ils ne sont pas fréquents, les docs qui parviennent à épouser le tempo de leur sujet : Gregory Monro réussit ce prodige.

Egalement diffusé en direct et en replay sur Arte+7, en version originale sous-titrée.

Plus infos et bande-annonce sur : http://www.frenchcx.com/fr/portfolio/jerry-lewis-clown-rebelle/

Now for those English speaking folks

The French Connection Films team is pleased to announce the broadcast on Sunday June 18 at 10:50 pm on ARTE of the documentary film "Jerry Lewis, rebel clown" by Gregory Monro.

A rewarding film realized with rhythm and brio!

Through rare archives, numerous excerpts from films, testimonials from friends and experts, and an exceptional interview with Jerry himself, (re) discover the journey and the filmography of this great American comic ... The talent of visionary filmmaker, shunned by the American public, was revealed by the French critics and filmmakers of the Nouvelle Vague!

Télérama Integrated pictures 1:
They are not frequent, the docs who manage to follow the tempo of their subject: Gregory Monro succeeds this prodigy.

Also broadcast live and replay on Arte + 7, in original subtitled version.

More info and trailer on: http://www.frenchcx.com/fr/portfolio/jerry-lewis-clown-rebelle/

Monday, June 12, 2017

Update


Sorry about the lack of posts lately. I have been suffering from blood clots in my left eye. Hopefully, this will resolve soon. If not, laser surgery will be scheduled. Already been done twice this year, but no lasting results.

I've had a bout with bacterial pneumonia and I'm not sure the antibiotics cleared it up completely, because not I'm fighting with bronchitis and have finished the antibioticts and am not showing a lot of improvement. Still have the cough and congestion and it has moved down to my ears and I'm can't hear in either year even with my hearing aides at full volume.

Hoping to get better soon. Am off from work so I can spend the full week trying to shake it.

I appreciate those who continue to visit my page. I'll have some new content soon.

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Memorial Day 2017


Memorial Day is the day we honor those ho gave all so that we may live in this great nation.
Remember them.
Honor them.


Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Monday, May 1, 2017

TOR BOOKS ANNOUNCES “TOR LABS” DRAMATIC PODCAST IMPRINT



TOR BOOKS ANNOUNCES “TOR LABS” DRAMATIC PODCAST IMPRINT

NEW YORK, NY — [May 1, 2017] Tor Books, a leading global publisher of science fiction and fantasy, announced today that it is launching TOR LABS, a new imprint emphasizing experimental approaches to genre publishing, beginning with original dramatic podcasts.

Helmed by Senior Editor Marco Palmieri and Editor Jennifer Gunnels, Tor Labs will debut this summer with Steal the Stars, a science fiction audio drama which will be produced in partnership with Gideon Media and written by Mac Rogers, the award-winning writer of the global hit podcast thrillers, The Message and LifeAfter.

Steal the Stars
is the story of Dakota Prentiss and Matt Salem, two government employees guarding the biggest secret in the world: a crashed UFO. Despite being forbidden to fraternize, Dak and Matt fall in love and decide to escape to a better life on the wings of an incredibly dangerous plan: They're going to steal the alien body they've been guarding and sell the secret of its existence.

Steal the Stars is a noir science fiction thriller in 14 episodes, airing weekly from August 2 – November 1, 2017, and available worldwide on all major podcast distributors through the Macmillan Podcast Network. It will be followed immediately by a novelization of the entire serial from Tor Books, as well as an ads-free audio book of the podcast from Macmillan Audio.

In a joint statement, Gunnels and Palmieri said, "There's a little mad science in every new publishing experiment, and we're tremendously excited about the creative possibilities of Tor Labs. We're especially thrilled to be partnering with Gideon Media on Steal the Stars, and bringing their phenomenal work to a wide audience."

"I was intrigued by the idea of a science fiction heist thriller told in the classic noir tradition of James M. Cain and Patricia Highsmith," said writer Mac Rogers. "I've always loved those stories of illicit lovers trying to pull off one nearly impossible crime in order to be together. As forces close in on them from all sides, they're pushed to greater extremes than they ever imagined."

About Tor Labs

Tor Labs, an imprint of Tom Doherty Associates, specializes in experimental and innovative ways of publishing science fiction, fantasy, horror, and related genres, as well as other material of interest to readers of those genres.


About Gideon Media


Gideon Media proudly builds on the acclaimed, award-winning theatrical tradition of Gideon Productions in creating complex, riveting genre entertainment. Gideon Media meticulously crafts new audio worlds in which listeners can lose themselves, centered around heart-wrenching, pulse-pounding tales of science fiction and horror.



About Tor Books


Tor Books, an imprint of Tom Doherty Associates, was founded in 1980. Between an extensive hardcover, trade softcover and mass market paperback line, a growing middle grade and YA list, and robust backlist program, Tor annually publishes what is arguably the largest and most diverse line of science fiction and fantasy produced by a single English-language publisher. Books from Tor have won every major award in the SF and fantasy fields, including Best Publisher in the Locus Poll for 29 years in a row.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Stolen Valor Law Gains Conviction


You are here

U.S. Attorneys » Northern District of Texas » News






Share














Department of Justice

U.S. Attorney’s Office

Northern District of Texas



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



Friday, April 21, 2017


DALLAS — A 35-year-old man, Brandon Ryan Blackstone, who admitted fraudulently representing the receipt of a military decoration for financial gain, has been sentenced by Chief U.S. District Judge Barbara M.G. Lynn to serve 21 months in federal prison, announced U.S. Attorney John Parker of the Northern District of Texas.

Blackstone pleaded guilty in September 2016 to a felony information charging one count of wire fraud and one count of fraudulent representation about the receipt of a military decoration for financial gain. Blackstone has been in custody since February 2017 for violations of his pretrial conditions.

“Falsely claiming military honors is disgraceful by itself,” said U.S. Attorney Parker. “But to do so for financial gain is particularly despicable.”

“Any fraudulent claim of military valor is disturbing and disrespectful to the brave men and women who earned their honors through courage and sacrifice. Brandon Blackstone’s fraudulent claims, made repeatedly with the purpose of defrauding the government and obtaining personal enrichment, are not only especially egregious, but criminal. The FBI will not stand by in these situations,” said FBI Dallas Special Agent in Charge Eric K. Jackson. “We will investigate these cases to ensure justice is reached. We will do our part to uphold the integrity of the U.S. government and military institutions and to honor those courageous individuals who truly deserve their military honors.”

“This conviction demonstrates the VA Office of Inspector General’s unwavering commitment to protect the programs intended to assist veterans that have served this nation and rightfully earned their benefits,” said Special Agent in Charge James Werner, VA Office of Inspector General.

According to plea documents, Blackstone served in the United States Marine Corps from 2004 until 2006. Between August 28, 2004, and September 30, 2004, Blackstone was deployed with the Marines to Iraq.

On July 28, 2006, Blackstone submitted an application for compensation and/or pension to the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). In the application, the defendant falsely claimed to have sustained multiple physical blast injuries while deployed to Iraq, when his Humvee vehicle struck an anti-tank mine. When Blackstone was examined at the Dallas VA Medical Center in October 2006 he falsely claimed that he sustained multiple lacerations and physical injuries as a result of an explosion when his Humvee passed over an anti-tank mine which exploded. Also in October 2006, in support of his application for benefits, Blackstone submitted to the VA, two forged and falsified witness statements, purporting to be signed by Marines who witnessed the explosion.

In November 2006, the VA awarded Blackstone disability benefits in the form of monthly compensation payments.

In February 2012, the defendant submitted an online application to the Military Warrior Support Foundation (MWSF), to fraudulently obtain a residence. MWSF is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping injured veterans. Included in the benefits provided to combat wounded veterans, MWSF provides mortgage free residences to eligible veterans who were wounded during combat. In the application, Blackstone falsely claimed to have sustained blast injuries, resulting from an explosion, when his vehicle struck an anti-tank mine while on patrol. In the application, Blackstone also falsely claimed that, as a result of his injury, he was awarded the Purple Heart Medal. Because he held himself out to have been awarded the Purple Heart Medal, Blackstone received from MWSF, a mortgage free residence in Fort Worth, Texas in November 2012, and was scheduled to receive the title of the residence in November 2015.

The Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Department of Veteran Affairs, Office of Inspector General investigated the case. Special Assistant U.S. Attorney Dan Cole was in charge of the prosecution.

# # #