Sunday, November 5, 2017

Veteran's Day 2017


In these days of protests I hope we can all band together and honor our Veterans.

Thursday, November 2, 2017

November 2, 2017


Today is November 2, 2017 and I wanted to shout out to Brian A. Hopkins, writer extraordinaire, whose novel foreshadowed many of the events of today.


Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead)

2002 Bram Stoker Award Winner

Locus Magazine 2002 Recommended Read

2002 International Horror Guild Award nominee

Some copies still available from Earthlingpub.com/ordering.php

Monday, October 30, 2017

A New Demon Trappers Novel



VALIANT LIGHT, the latest volume of The Demon Trappers series by Jana Oliver will be available as an ebook starting November 25. A paperback should follow shortly thereafter.

From the snippets I've seen, Riley and Boon are back for more and they will not disappoint. {Never have, Never will)

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Welcome to issue #100 of the Donald M. Grant Newsletter


Welcome to issue #100 of the Donald M. Grant Newsletter


25 October 2017

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. ADVENTUROUS WORLD OF ZDENEK BURIAN
2. STEPHEN KING ARTIST/GIFT EDITIONS AVAILABLE
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. ADVENTUROUS WORLD OF ZDENEK BURIAN

I was an admirer of the art of Zdenek Burian long before I traveled to Prague and
met him in 1975. Zdenek Burian is best known internationally for his paintings of
dinosaurs, extinct mammals and prehistoric man but his illustration work is only
known in the Czech Republic. This massive (9 1/2” x 13”, 414 page, 6 pounds 7
ounces) book reproduces, from the original art, mostly complete sets of illustra-
tions for books published by various Czech publishers in the years 1921-1947.

Published in 2016, the book is out of print from the Czech publisher (the text of
the book is in Czech so most of you will be buying this only for the art) but we
were able to get a limited number of copies from a Czech book distributor. If we
are sold out please email us and we will let you know if we are able to acquire
additional copies.

Price is $115.00 plus shipping and handling.

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/adventurous-world-of-zdenek-burian/


2. STEPHEN KING ARTIST/GIFT EDITIONS AVAILABLE

Still available are the Artist Editions of THE DARK TOWER VII:
THE DARK TOWER (signed by Michael Whelan) and THE 
WIND THROUGH THE KEYHOLE (signed by Jae Lee) and the
slipcased Gift Edition of THE TALISMAN (signed by Peter
Straub and Rick berry) and BLACK HOUSE. Please note that
the two Artist Editions were released prior to the Trade Editions
and so are First Editions of these books. Links to the specific
pages are at:

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/wind-through-keyhole-artist/

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/dark-tower-vii-artist/


https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/black-house-talisman-gift/


Thank you.

Robert K. Wiener, President
Donald M. Grant, Publisher, Inc.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

THE DEEP by Nick Cutter


THE DEEP by Nick Cutter, Gallery books, $26.00, reviewed by Jim Brock.

Nick Cutter is a pseudonym for Canadian writer Craig Davidson. He also uses the pseudonym Patrick Lestewka. I tell you this because I suspect after reading THE DEEP you will be like me in seeking out other books by “them” – especially THE TROOP, the first Nick Cutter book.

The phrase that kept bouncing around my mind as I read THE DEEP was “sickeningly horrific’. This thing touched on some of my “deepest” fears in every sense of the word. First, the world is beset by a plague called the ‘Gets. This is a scary thing to me because it seems so much more possible than zombies, vampires, and etc. People just start forgetting things and these things go from small to large – eventually forgetting to live.

There is some possible hope to be found from a newly discovered substance called Ambrosia which seems to be a universal healer. Ambrosia has been found in the Mariana Trench, the deepest spot in the Pacific Ocean. Multiple governments and corporations have built a trillion dollar lab at the bottom of the ocean to gather and test Ambrosia. This installation is populated by three scientists, the most brilliant of which is Dr. Clayton Nelson. But now, communication has been lost between the lab and the surface.

Veterinarian Dr. Luke Nelson has been summoned, at his brother’s request, before communication was lost. He must get into a small submersible with a deep sea pilot and go eight miles down (that’s 8 miles down) to the lab at the bottom of the Mariana Trench to see what’s going on. This hits my claustrophobia a gigantic blow that stays and pressures me the entire book.

This only brings us to the miserable and horrible backgrounds of Luke and Clayton and the others and to the secret of Ambrosia’s source and what was really waiting for them at the bottom of the ocean. It becomes clear that the ‘Gets might be the mildest horror in THE DEEP. And don’t ask me about what happens to the dig, L.B. I am still traumatized by that. If you like your horror extra strong, THE DEEP is for you.

Monday, October 16, 2017

This just in from the VA


Dear VSO Colleagues:

This letter is in response to multiple inquiries to the Department
of Veterans Affairs (VA) concerning the proposed changes to the total
disability based on individual unemployability (TDIU) program in the
Administration's FY 2018 budget for VA. As a valued partner, I am
writing you to address VA's current position on the TDIU program.

The Department does not support a termination of TDIU
benefits.
We are committed to finding ways that empower disabled
Veterans through vocational rehabilitation and employment
opportunities, when appropriate. VA looks forward to our continued
collaboration and finding solutions to best administer the TDIU program
in the future.

Monday, October 9, 2017

Three from Chandler Steele


CAT'S PAW, KILLING GAME, and BROKEN DREAMS, Chandler Steele, SteeleRomance, $12.99 each (Amazon), reviewed by Jim Brock.

CAT'S PAW and KILLING GAME are Veritas novels and BROKEN DREAMS is a Veritas novella. Veritas is an organization run by a reformed super wealthy arms dealer. Veritas investigates cases of various types and uses its operatives to great effect to set things right or to prevent bad things from happening. These cases include drug dealing, domestic terrorism, etc. There are several commonalities between these books. The women are all hot and they are equally or more lethal than the males. The action is straight forward and intense. The sex is also hot and intense.

I do not know why authors use pseudonyms. I guess there are various reasons. In this case, I once said I would read this author's grocery list because she is so good. These Chandler Steele books are yet another direction for her but I will always follow - no matter which way she takes me. Whether we are chasing magicians or wizards or demons or thieves or murderers, I'm on board.

How about a book for Miri and The Iceman? I'm on board for that one, too.

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Tom Petty has gone Into That Great Wide Open


Tom Petty left us last night after delivering some of the best Southern Rock and feel good music for over 40 years. He had wrapped up The Heartbreakers 40th Anniversary Tour last week and was planning an enhanced re-edited "Wildflowers" package.


Tom and his wife, Dana York.


Tom and Stevie Nicks, his favorite duet partner. They Had three charted hits with THE INSIDER, STOP DRAGGIN' MY HEART AROUND and NEEDLES AND PINS.

He is survived by his wife and two daughters, The Heartbreakers, and millions of fans.

There can be only one...

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

A Heartfelt Collection from Michael Bishop


Other Arms Reach Out to Me: Georgia Stories, Michael Bishop, Kindle Edition-$5.99, 17.99 paperback, Amazon and other fine bookstores.

I have been a fan and a friend of Michael's since his first novel, A FUNERAL FOR THE EYES OF FIRE and have never been disappointed with any of them. My only complaint is that they are too few and too far between

In this collection, we see a collection of stories that showcase the "human" side of emotions and their effect on our psyches and will make the tears flow on many an occasion. His subtle tribute to Flannery O'Connor; his understanding of autism; and, just his point of view will cause you to look inward and see the humanity that may be hidden there and allow it to surface. We all need to let our humanity out and the world might become a nicer place.

Thanks Mike, only you can tear out my heart and make me enjoy it.

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Len Wein is gone


Len Wein (June 12, 1948 - September 10, 2017) was an American comic book writer and editor best known for co-creating DC Comics' Swamp Thing and Marvel Comics' Wolverine, and for helping revive the Marvel superhero team the X-Men (including the co-creation of Nightcrawler, Storm, and Colossus). Additionally, he was the editor for writer Alan Moore and illustrator Dave Gibbons' influential DC miniseries Watchmen.

There are not enough superlatives to describe his affect on comics and fans the world over.

There can be only one!

Friday, September 8, 2017

Jerry Pournelle, You will be missed

Jerry Pournelle left us today. Korean war veteran, science fiction writer extraordinaire, frequent DragonCon attendee, and friend to Baryon and myself has gone to the big WorldCon. You are already beng missed.

Sunday, August 27, 2017

Monday, August 21, 2017

Brian Aldiss

Farewell, kind Sir

May the next world be as kind to you as this one

Rest in Peace

Friday, August 18, 2017

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

EARTHLING PRESS ANNOUNCES ANNUAL HALLOWEEN VOLUME


Earthling Publications Newsletter
8/16/17
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now Available for Preorder!

From the celebrated author of Bird Box and Black Mad Wheel, a very special 13th book in Earthling's annual Halloween Series.


Currently at the printer and in production! Due this October. To learn more about GOBLIN and preorder your copy, please visit the website now:

Link to GOBLIN

ALSO: not mentioned on the website, but folks who order a copy will be put into a raffle for a copy of the galley for Josh's BLACK MAD WHEEL galley (signed and dated March 22, 2017) or a copy of the galley for GOBLIN (signed and dated in August 2017). Two of each title available, all dated prior to each respective hardcover publication.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks and all the best,
Paul Miller, Publisher
Earthling Publications
Website: www.earthlingpub.com
Email: earthlingpub@yahoo.com
P.O. Box 413
Northborough, MA 01532
USA

Monday, August 14, 2017

THEY SAY A GIRL DIED HERE ONCE, Sarah Pinborough



THEY SAY A GIRL DIED HERE ONCE, Sarah Pinborough, Earthling Publications Halloween Special, $35, reviewed by Jim Brock.

I try to walk 30 minutes most every morning. Over where I walk I often see a man with his dog. That dog is a small terrier of some sort. Its name is Cujo.

I’ve told you that to tell you this: not since Stephen King’s CUJO have I read a book whose ending was as strong a gut punch as is THEY SAY A GIRL DIED HERE. My gut is more ample than it used to be but Sarah Pinborough absolutely twisted and shocked and disturbed it (to my delight) as much King did all those years ago.

Anna is a 17-year-old dropout who, along with her Grandma, Mother and 10-year-old sister have moved back to Grandma’s hometown. They have fled the city because Anna was involved in some internet/social media disgrace. Mom works the nightshift as a nurse. Anna some days waitressing at a diner and looks after her sister and Grandma at night. That is complicated by the fact that Grandma is slowly failing with Alzheimer’s.

When Grandma starts scratching at the door leading down to the basement in their creepy old house and begins speaking some strange thoughts during her last moments, an already unsettled Anna becomes more and more unsettled.

THEY SAY A GIRL DIED HERE ONCE slowly builds the tension and suspense, Pinborough parcels out the clues and story slowly and I found myself I was in the middle of a teen angst or a ghost story or a murder mystery when, in reality, I was in the middle of an incredible read that was all of this and so much more.

Much like the little dog I told you about earlier, the friendly little terrier whose character took on such a strong meaning due to being named Cujo, THEY SAY A GIRL DIED HERE ONCE is a short novel with a huge impact. And the last pages are incredibly creative.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

August 9, 1971

Happy Birthday Kimberly

Saturday, July 29, 2017

Are you wandering?




"Not all those who wander are lost." - J. R. R. Tolkien

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

The Halloween Children by Brian James Freeman & Norman Prentiss

Hydra / Random House eBook Publication Date: June 13, 2017


The Halloween Children
is frankly one of the more disturbing books I have ever read. From page to page my opinion of who was the monster behind what was going on changed from husband to wife to the children and then back. I was shocked and startled, grossed out and horrified – and I enjoyed every minute of it. And in the end, I still wasn’t sure who was the craziest – myself included. Freeman and Prentiss have created a disturbing tale with images so vivid they leapt from the page into brilliantly colored pictures in the mind. This is one powerful book. Treat yourself to this one for Halloween but be warned – have plenty of candy on hand for The Halloween Children should come knocking.

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Jerry Lewis, rebel clown to be shown on ARTE Sunday night


First off, for my Freench speaking readers - especially those in Europe.

Toute l'équipe de French Connection Films est heureuse de vous annoncer la diffusion ce dimanche 18 juin à 22 h 50 sur ARTE du film documentaire "Jerry Lewis, clown rebelle " de Gregory Monro.

Un film réjouissant réalisé avec rythme et brio !

A travers des archives rares, de nombreux extraits de films, des témoignages d'amis et d'experts, et un entretien exceptionnel avec Jerry lui-même, (re)découvrez le parcours et la filmographie de ce grand comique américain ... dont le talent de cinéaste visionnaire, boudé par le public américain, a été révélé par les critiques et cinéastes français de la Nouvelle Vague !

Télérama Images intégrées 1 :
Ils ne sont pas fréquents, les docs qui parviennent à épouser le tempo de leur sujet : Gregory Monro réussit ce prodige.

Egalement diffusé en direct et en replay sur Arte+7, en version originale sous-titrée.

Plus infos et bande-annonce sur : http://www.frenchcx.com/fr/portfolio/jerry-lewis-clown-rebelle/

Now for those English speaking folks

The French Connection Films team is pleased to announce the broadcast on Sunday June 18 at 10:50 pm on ARTE of the documentary film "Jerry Lewis, rebel clown" by Gregory Monro.

A rewarding film realized with rhythm and brio!

Through rare archives, numerous excerpts from films, testimonials from friends and experts, and an exceptional interview with Jerry himself, (re) discover the journey and the filmography of this great American comic ... The talent of visionary filmmaker, shunned by the American public, was revealed by the French critics and filmmakers of the Nouvelle Vague!

Télérama Integrated pictures 1:
They are not frequent, the docs who manage to follow the tempo of their subject: Gregory Monro succeeds this prodigy.

Also broadcast live and replay on Arte + 7, in original subtitled version.

More info and trailer on: http://www.frenchcx.com/fr/portfolio/jerry-lewis-clown-rebelle/

Monday, June 12, 2017

Update


Sorry about the lack of posts lately. I have been suffering from blood clots in my left eye. Hopefully, this will resolve soon. If not, laser surgery will be scheduled. Already been done twice this year, but no lasting results.

I've had a bout with bacterial pneumonia and I'm not sure the antibiotics cleared it up completely, because not I'm fighting with bronchitis and have finished the antibioticts and am not showing a lot of improvement. Still have the cough and congestion and it has moved down to my ears and I'm can't hear in either year even with my hearing aides at full volume.

Hoping to get better soon. Am off from work so I can spend the full week trying to shake it.

I appreciate those who continue to visit my page. I'll have some new content soon.

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Memorial Day 2017


Memorial Day is the day we honor those ho gave all so that we may live in this great nation.
Remember them.
Honor them.


Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Monday, May 1, 2017

TOR BOOKS ANNOUNCES “TOR LABS” DRAMATIC PODCAST IMPRINT



TOR BOOKS ANNOUNCES “TOR LABS” DRAMATIC PODCAST IMPRINT

NEW YORK, NY — [May 1, 2017] Tor Books, a leading global publisher of science fiction and fantasy, announced today that it is launching TOR LABS, a new imprint emphasizing experimental approaches to genre publishing, beginning with original dramatic podcasts.

Helmed by Senior Editor Marco Palmieri and Editor Jennifer Gunnels, Tor Labs will debut this summer with Steal the Stars, a science fiction audio drama which will be produced in partnership with Gideon Media and written by Mac Rogers, the award-winning writer of the global hit podcast thrillers, The Message and LifeAfter.

Steal the Stars
is the story of Dakota Prentiss and Matt Salem, two government employees guarding the biggest secret in the world: a crashed UFO. Despite being forbidden to fraternize, Dak and Matt fall in love and decide to escape to a better life on the wings of an incredibly dangerous plan: They're going to steal the alien body they've been guarding and sell the secret of its existence.

Steal the Stars is a noir science fiction thriller in 14 episodes, airing weekly from August 2 – November 1, 2017, and available worldwide on all major podcast distributors through the Macmillan Podcast Network. It will be followed immediately by a novelization of the entire serial from Tor Books, as well as an ads-free audio book of the podcast from Macmillan Audio.

In a joint statement, Gunnels and Palmieri said, "There's a little mad science in every new publishing experiment, and we're tremendously excited about the creative possibilities of Tor Labs. We're especially thrilled to be partnering with Gideon Media on Steal the Stars, and bringing their phenomenal work to a wide audience."

"I was intrigued by the idea of a science fiction heist thriller told in the classic noir tradition of James M. Cain and Patricia Highsmith," said writer Mac Rogers. "I've always loved those stories of illicit lovers trying to pull off one nearly impossible crime in order to be together. As forces close in on them from all sides, they're pushed to greater extremes than they ever imagined."

About Tor Labs

Tor Labs, an imprint of Tom Doherty Associates, specializes in experimental and innovative ways of publishing science fiction, fantasy, horror, and related genres, as well as other material of interest to readers of those genres.


About Gideon Media


Gideon Media proudly builds on the acclaimed, award-winning theatrical tradition of Gideon Productions in creating complex, riveting genre entertainment. Gideon Media meticulously crafts new audio worlds in which listeners can lose themselves, centered around heart-wrenching, pulse-pounding tales of science fiction and horror.



About Tor Books


Tor Books, an imprint of Tom Doherty Associates, was founded in 1980. Between an extensive hardcover, trade softcover and mass market paperback line, a growing middle grade and YA list, and robust backlist program, Tor annually publishes what is arguably the largest and most diverse line of science fiction and fantasy produced by a single English-language publisher. Books from Tor have won every major award in the SF and fantasy fields, including Best Publisher in the Locus Poll for 29 years in a row.

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Stolen Valor Law Gains Conviction


You are here

U.S. Attorneys » Northern District of Texas » News






Share














Department of Justice

U.S. Attorney’s Office

Northern District of Texas



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



Friday, April 21, 2017


DALLAS — A 35-year-old man, Brandon Ryan Blackstone, who admitted fraudulently representing the receipt of a military decoration for financial gain, has been sentenced by Chief U.S. District Judge Barbara M.G. Lynn to serve 21 months in federal prison, announced U.S. Attorney John Parker of the Northern District of Texas.

Blackstone pleaded guilty in September 2016 to a felony information charging one count of wire fraud and one count of fraudulent representation about the receipt of a military decoration for financial gain. Blackstone has been in custody since February 2017 for violations of his pretrial conditions.

“Falsely claiming military honors is disgraceful by itself,” said U.S. Attorney Parker. “But to do so for financial gain is particularly despicable.”

“Any fraudulent claim of military valor is disturbing and disrespectful to the brave men and women who earned their honors through courage and sacrifice. Brandon Blackstone’s fraudulent claims, made repeatedly with the purpose of defrauding the government and obtaining personal enrichment, are not only especially egregious, but criminal. The FBI will not stand by in these situations,” said FBI Dallas Special Agent in Charge Eric K. Jackson. “We will investigate these cases to ensure justice is reached. We will do our part to uphold the integrity of the U.S. government and military institutions and to honor those courageous individuals who truly deserve their military honors.”

“This conviction demonstrates the VA Office of Inspector General’s unwavering commitment to protect the programs intended to assist veterans that have served this nation and rightfully earned their benefits,” said Special Agent in Charge James Werner, VA Office of Inspector General.

According to plea documents, Blackstone served in the United States Marine Corps from 2004 until 2006. Between August 28, 2004, and September 30, 2004, Blackstone was deployed with the Marines to Iraq.

On July 28, 2006, Blackstone submitted an application for compensation and/or pension to the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). In the application, the defendant falsely claimed to have sustained multiple physical blast injuries while deployed to Iraq, when his Humvee vehicle struck an anti-tank mine. When Blackstone was examined at the Dallas VA Medical Center in October 2006 he falsely claimed that he sustained multiple lacerations and physical injuries as a result of an explosion when his Humvee passed over an anti-tank mine which exploded. Also in October 2006, in support of his application for benefits, Blackstone submitted to the VA, two forged and falsified witness statements, purporting to be signed by Marines who witnessed the explosion.

In November 2006, the VA awarded Blackstone disability benefits in the form of monthly compensation payments.

In February 2012, the defendant submitted an online application to the Military Warrior Support Foundation (MWSF), to fraudulently obtain a residence. MWSF is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping injured veterans. Included in the benefits provided to combat wounded veterans, MWSF provides mortgage free residences to eligible veterans who were wounded during combat. In the application, Blackstone falsely claimed to have sustained blast injuries, resulting from an explosion, when his vehicle struck an anti-tank mine while on patrol. In the application, Blackstone also falsely claimed that, as a result of his injury, he was awarded the Purple Heart Medal. Because he held himself out to have been awarded the Purple Heart Medal, Blackstone received from MWSF, a mortgage free residence in Fort Worth, Texas in November 2012, and was scheduled to receive the title of the residence in November 2015.

The Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Department of Veteran Affairs, Office of Inspector General investigated the case. Special Assistant U.S. Attorney Dan Cole was in charge of the prosecution.

# # #

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

BATTLEFIELD EARTH AUDIOBOOK AVAILABLE





Award-winning audio

The Award-Winning
Battlefield Earth Audiobook
by L. Ron Hubbard

Now available on USB Key Drive

Battlefield Earth is a swashbuckling science fiction saga of adventure, daring and courage, when man is an endangered species and the future survival of what's left of the human race is at stake.

In the year 3000, man has been savagely ruled for 1,000 years by a space-plundering race of 9-foot high, gas-breathing conquerors from the planet Psychlo.

A hero emerges–Jonnie Goodboy Tyler–to free mankind from the alien tyranny. But is Jonnie's fight to save humanity from these gigantic and technologically superior monsters a losing battle?

Audiobook Heaven declares, "It's like a full-blown feature film inside your head."

• Complete and unabridged. Over 47 hours of pure entertainment.

• Featuring 67 actors performing 198 different characters with 150,000 cinematic quality sound effects that put you right in the middle of the action.
• Now available on a USB drive to listen to wherever you go. Turn your boring commute, chores or workout into pulse-pounding adventure.

• Simple to use. Just insert USB drive into MP3 enabled player and listen. Or, insert USB drive into computer and play through media player.


Only available direct from GalaxyPress.com – $35



































Welcome to issue #99 of the Donald M. Grant Newsletter




Welcome to issue #99 of the Donald M. Grant Newsletter

26 April 2017

FOR OUR NON-US CUSTOMERS

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. OMAR RAYYAN - GOBLIN MARKET
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mailing costs out of the United States are outrageous. Currently the cheapest way
we can send GOBLIN MARKET to someone in the UK is $34.50 (via International
First Class Mail - there is no book rate), almost the cost of the book alone.

Sometimes an overseas customer has found that they can order the book via
Amazon and get a cheaper shipping rate.

Another alternative is that Diamond Comics Distributors ships our books all over
the world to comic shops, but they usually only make them available for a month
or two. They have just solicited GOBLIN MARKET but if there is a comic book
store you occasionally go to (I only know of Forbidden Planet in London) you
might ask them to order GOBLIN MARKET for you. Direct them to this page:

https://www.previewsworld.com/Catalog/APR172278


I don’t know if Diamond will still ship them the Jeff Jones IDYL-I’M AGE book we
published two years ago or the two Roger Zelazny-Vaugh Bode books from last
year but you might ask them to try.

Check out our re-vamped website at grantbooks.com

1. OMAR RAYYAN - GOBLIN MARKET


DONALD M. GRANT, PUBLISHER, INC. is proud to announce
the publication of Christina Rossetti’s GOBLIN MARKET, lavishly
interpreted by award winning artist Omar Rayyan.

Over one hundred drawings and watercolor paintings are packed
into this 88 page full color book. 10 x 12 inches, hardcover with a
printed dust jacket and an introduction written by Charles Vess.
Omar signed a number of books for us and these are available
while they last at no extra cost.

Retail price is $35.00 plus shipping and can be ordered at:

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/goblin-market/


Thank you.

Robert K. Wiener, President
Donald M. Grant, Publisher, Inc.

Monday, April 10, 2017



The Best New Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year:


28 award-winning authors and illustrators accompanied by Anne McCaffrey, Robert J. Sawyer, Larry Elmore, Todd McCaffrey, Bob Eggleton


Find out what’s next.


What if there was a single contest to determine the most talented new writers across the genres of Sci-fi and Fantasy?


What if you could find all the award-winning stories—a variety of creative and fresh new ideas—all in one anthology?


What if you could turn the page, explore diverse new universes of possibility and see what is to come?


Welcome to the world of the Writers of the Future.


Where what if—IS what’s here.




ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY:


AMAZON.COM | BARNES&NOBLE | BOOKS -A-MILLION | INDIEBOUND




Orson Scott Card


“There’s only one reason to pick up Writers of the Future, and that’s because the stories are wonderful.”




Brandon Sanderson



“It really does help the best rise to the top.”



Kevin J. Anderson



“It’s a five-course meal, that is a nice flow of different types of stories going all the way through.”



GALAXY PRESS, INC.

7051 Hollywood Blvd. Hollywood, California 90028 United States (323) 466-3310


Friday, April 7, 2017

VA Secretary Praises Congress for Extending Choice Program




Calls legislation major step toward increasing access to care

WASHINGTON — Today, following the U.S. Senate’s passage by unanimous consent last week, the U.S. House of Representatives passed legislation that extends the Veterans Choice Program (VCP) until the funding dedicated to the program is exhausted. The VCP is a critical program that increases access to care for millions of Veterans. Without this legislation, the ability to use VCP funding would have ended abruptly on Aug. 7 of this year. Secretary of Veterans Affairs Dr. David J. Shulkin released the following statement of support:

“Congress has once again demonstrated that the country stands firmly united when it comes to supporting our nation’s Veterans,” Secretary Shulkin said. “The Department of Veterans Affairs truly appreciates the quick bipartisan resolution Congress provided with the extension of the Veterans Choice Program.

“I want to thank Chairman Johnny Isakson, Ranking Member Jon Tester, Chairman Phil Roe, Ranking Member Tim Walz and all the members of our committees for their leadership as we continue to make improvements to increase Veterans’ access to care,” Secretary Shulkin continued. “I also want to thank Senator John McCain, who has championed choice for Veterans and whose work on this issue allowed for swift and successful resolution. “VA looks forward to continued bipartisan support as we partner with Congress to not only develop a long-term solution for community care, but also work toward other critical legislation, such as accountability and appeals modernization to ensure Veterans receive the highest quality of care, benefits and support they have earned.”

# # #

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

VA Fixes Veterans Crisis Line


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 21, 2017

VA Fixes Veterans Crisis Line

WASHINGTON - In response to the recently released VA Office of Inspector General (OIG) report that reviewed processes from June 6 through December 15, 2016 of the Veterans Crisis Line (VCL), the Department of Veterans Affairs released the following statement:

The Department of Veterans Affairs is proud to announce that the challenges with the Veterans Crisis Line have been resolved.

Prior to the opening of our new Atlanta call center our call roll over rate often exceeded 30%. Our current call roll over rate is less than 1%, with over 99% of all calls being answered by the VCL.

“Suicide prevention is one of our highest priorities,” said Secretary of Veterans Affairs David J. Shulkin. “Fixing the Veterans Crisis Line was a critical step in keeping our commitment to Veterans.”

To reach a trained VA professional who is specially trained to attend to emotional crises for Veterans and Servicemembers:

Dial the National Suicide Prevention Hotline number, 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Veterans should choose option 1 to reach a VCL Responder

Text 838255 - A VCL responder will text back.

Chat online at https://www.veteranscrisisline.net/

Sunday, March 19, 2017

Bernie Wrightson, 1948 - 2017


MARCH 19, 2017

A Message from Liz Wrightson

It is with great sorrow that I must announce the passing of my beloved husband, Bernie. We thank you for all the years of love and support. His obituary is below:

After a long battle with brain cancer, legendary artist Bernie Wrightson has passed away.

Bernie “Berni” Wrightson (born October 27, 1948, Baltimore, Maryland, USA) was an American artist known for his horror illustrations and comic books. He received training in art from reading comics, particularly those of EC, as well as through a correspondence course from the Famous Artists School. In 1966, Wrightson began working for The Baltimore Sun newspaper as an illustrator. The following year, after meeting artist Frank Frazetta at a comic-book convention in New York City, he was inspired to produce his own stories. In 1968, he showed copies of his sequential art to DC Comics editor Dick Giordano and was given a freelance assignment. Wrightson began spelling his name “Berni” in his professional work to distinguish himself from an Olympic diver named Bernie Wrightson, but later restored the final E to his name.

His first professional comic work appeared in House of Mystery #179 in 1968. He continued to work on a variety of mystery and anthology titles for both DC and its principal rival, Marvel Comics. In 1971, with writer Len Wein, Wrightson co-created the muck creature Swamp Thing for DC. He also co-created Destiny, later to become famous in the work of Neil Gaiman. By 1974 he had left DC to work at Warren Publishing who were publishing black-and-white horror-comics magazines. There he produced a series of original work as well as adaptations of stories by H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe. In 1975, Wrightson joined with fellow artists Jeff Jones, Michael Kaluta, and Barry Windsor-Smith to form “The Studio,” a shared loft in Manhattan where the group would pursue creative products outside the constraints of comic book commercialism. Though he continued to produce sequential art, Wrightson at this time began producing artwork for numerous posters, prints, calendars, and coloring books.

Wrightson spent seven years drawing approximately 50 detailed pen-and-ink illustrations to accompany an edition of Mary Shelley’s novel Frankenstein, which the artist considers among his most personal work. Wrightson drew the poster for the Stephen King-penned horror film Creepshow, as well as illustrating the comic book adaptation of the film. This led to several other collaborations with King, including illustrations for the novella “Cycle of the Werewolf,” the restored edition of King’s apocalyptic horror epic, “The Stand,” and art for the hardcover editions of “From a Buick 8” and “Dark Tower V.” Wrightson has contributed album covers for a number of bands, including Meat Loaf. The “Captain Sternn” segment of the animated film Heavy Metal is based on the character created by Wrightson for his award-winning short comic series of the same name.

Characters he worked on included Spiderman, Batman and The Punisher, and he provided painted covers for the DC comics Nevermore and Toe Tags, among many others. Recent works include Frankenstein Alive Alive, Dead She Said , the Ghoul and Doc Macabre (IDW Publishing) all co-created with esteemed horror author Steve Niles, and several print/poster/sketchbooks series produced by Nakatomi.

As a conceptual artist, Bernie worked on many movies, particularly in the horror genre: well-known films include Ghostbusters, The Faculty, Galaxy Quest, Spiderman, and George Romero’s Land of the Dead, and Frank Darabont’s Stephen King film The Mist.

Bernie lived in Austin, Texas with his wife Liz and two corgis – Mortimer and Maximillian. In addition to his wife, he is survived by two sons, John and Jeffrey, one stepson, Thomas Adamson, and countless friends and fans. A celebration of his life is planned for later this year. (Reprinted from www.BernieWrightson.com.

A Personal Note

I first met Bernie in 1978 when "The Studio" were guests at DeepSouthCon in Atlanta. It was an art based convention (imho) due to the number of artists in attendance. In addition to The Studio, Micheal Whelan and Roger Dean were guests, and I ran around like a drooling, dumbfounded fan-boy. I have never attended another Convention that featured as many NAME artists, and that includes many DragonCons. Bernie was a fantastic artist and person. The world is a poorer place without him in it.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

THE DASTARDLY MISS LIZZIE by Viola Carr




THE DASTARDLY MISS LIZZIE
by Viola Carr
An Electric Empire Novel
On sale: 4/18/2017 | ISBN: 9780062363121

In the third book in Viola Carr’s fantastically fun and wonderfully edgy Electric Empire novel, set in the gritty world of alternate Victorian London, Dr. Eliza Jekyll must team up with her secret other half, Miss Lizzie Hyde, as her world comes crashing to a halt when a madman begins targeting the city’s most important scientists, and sorcerers threaten all she holds dear.

ABOUT THE BOOK:


Crime scene physician Eliza Jekyll is trying to share a life with her rebellious second self, Lizzie Hyde. But being two people in one body isn’t easy, not when Eliza has a professional reputation to protect and Lizzie is veering headfirst into a life of debauchery and crime with an increasingly demented Mr. Hyde. Not to mention the difficulty of making a respectable marriage with Remy Lafayette--Royal Society investigator and occasional lycanthrope--while Lizzie enjoys her own dubious romantic entanglements. And with England on the brink of war, Remy’s secretive mission in sorcery-riddled Paris grows ever more sinister. Has he been an enemy agent all along? Or is Eliza finally going mad?

Now, she’s confronted by her most baffling case yet: an evil genius with a penchant for theatrics is murdering eminent scientists in the most inexplicable ways. Her investigation uncovers a murky world of forbidden books, secret laboratories and bleeding-edge science punishable by death--and a shocking connection to her father’s infamous experiments. Desperate to learn the truth about her past, she must infiltrate a cabal of fanatical inventors bent on a discovery that will change the world--or destroy it.

With London under attack by sorcery-wielding terrorists, and the Royal Society’s enforcers determined to bury her evidence for good, Eliza needs all the friends she can get if she’s to thwart the killer and keep her head. But when Lizzie’s criminal shenanigans get Eliza fired from the Metropolitan Police, and Remy is implicated in an act of bloody vengeance he didn’t commit (or did he?), she’s on her own.

Except for wily, resourceful, mercurial Lizzie. But Lizzie’s got her own life now. And she’ll do anything to keep it. Even if it means attempting the unspeakable and finding her own body. Even if it means throwing Eliza to the wolves, and letting the world burn…

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Viola Carr was born in Australia, but wandered into darkest London one foggy October evening and never found her way out. She now devours countless history books and dictates fantastical novels by gaslight, accompanied by classical music and the snoring of her slumbering cat. She likes steampunk, and thought it would be cool to investigate wacky crimes with crazy gadgets…just so long as her heroine was the creator of said wacky gadgets: a tinkerer, edgy, with a dash of mad scientist.

Saturday, February 25, 2017

Explore Unknown Worlds and Beyond




Explore Unknown Worlds and Beyond






The Science Fiction & Fantasy Short Story Collection


The 11-book Collection includes 32 Sci-Fi and Fantasy short stories.
As a master of the art of narrative and one of the leaders in the Golden Age of Science Fiction, L. Ron Hubbard's Sci-Fi and Fantasy stories helped reshape the future of speculative fiction.

The universe is your oyster as you explore fabulous worlds of unfolding mystery and unlimited potential. Discover the herald of possibility in these out-of-this world adventures.

SAVE 25% on the collection

Sci-Fi & Fantasy Book Collection – only $82

Sci-Fi & Fantasy Audio Collection – only $107

FREE SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS $50 AND OVER

www.galaxypress.com


Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Live Echoes


Live Echoes

Henry V. O'Neil
February 28, 2017
Harper Voyager Impulse
E-Book
Fiction / Science Fiction / Military
$3.99 USD, $2.99 CAD, £1.99 GBP, €4.99 EUR


About the Book

In the final book of the Sim War series, all of the crimes committed in the decades-long conflict come home to roost.

There’s new hope for resolution of the decades-long war against the Sims: the discovery of Omega, a mysterious planet far from the fighting. Reena Mortas, the embattled leader of the human alliance, is betting everything that Omega could unlock the mystery of what’s creating the Sims.

Meanwhile, her husband and predecessor, the missing-and-believed-dead Olech Mortas, has made contact with the aliens who gave mankind the faster-than-light mode of travel known as the Step. Existing in a different realm, Olech is re-living the most important decisions of his life—while trying to explain human contradiction to a being that looks just like him, known only as Mirror.

Olech’s children, Jander and Ayliss, are still embroiled in the war. Jander has rejoined the Orphan Brigade on the mineral-rich planet Celestia, where he comes to believe what many of the Orphans feel: they’re supporting the wrong side. Ayliss, fighting in the all-female Banshees, is soon thrown into the losing war against the Sims, not knowing that every Banshee in the Human Defense Force is slated for an all-out assault on Omega that could win the war—or get them all killed.

LIVE ECHOES is the gripping end to the Sim War series, and finally answers its central question: Where did the Sims come from, and why are they bent on humanity’s destruction?


About Henry V. O’Neil

Henry V. O'Neil is the name under which award-winning mystery novelist Vincent H. O'Neil publishes his science fiction work. A graduate of West Point, he served in the US Army Infantry with the 10th Mountain Division at Fort Drum, New York, and in the 1st Battalion (Airborne) of the 508th Infantry in Panama. He has worked as a risk manager, a marketing copywriter, and an apprentice librarian.


Publishing Info:

eISBN-13: 9780062471741
Price: $3.99
On sale: Feb. 28, 2017
Publisher: Voyager Impulse
Format: eBook, novel
(print copies available 4/18/17; ISBN: 9780062471765)

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Stolen from someone on Facebook

I think everyone will get a kick out of this.


"I can't believe I'm saying this, but it looks like Trump is actually making America great again. Just look at the progress made since the election:

1. Unprecedented levels of ongoing civic engagement.
2. Millions of Americans now know who their state and federal representatives are without having to Google.

3. Millions of Americans are exercising more. They're holding signs and marching every week.

4. Alec Baldwin is great again. Everyone's forgotten he's kind of a jerk.

5. The Postal Service is enjoying the influx cash due to stamps purchased by millions of people for letter and postcard campaigns.

6. Likewise, the pharmaceutical industry is enjoying record growth in sales of anti-depressants.

7. Millions of Americans now know how to call their elected officials and know exactly what to say to be effective.

8. Footage of town hall meetings is now entertaining.

9. Tens of millions of people are now correctly spelling words like emoluments, narcissist, fascist, misogynist, holocaust and cognitive dissonance.

10. Everyone knows more about the rise of Hitler than they did last year.

11. Everyone knows more about legislation, branches of power and how checks and balances work.

12. Marginalized groups are experiencing a surge in white allies.

13. White people in record numbers have just learned that racism is not dead. (See #6)

14. White people in record numbers also finally understand that Obamacare IS the Affordable Care Act.

15. Stephen Colbert's "Late Night" finally gained the elusive #1 spot in late night talk shows, and Seth Meyers is finding his footing as today's Jon Stewart.

16. "Mike Pence" has donated millions of dollars to Planned Parenthood since Nov. 9th.

17. Melissa FREAKING McCarthy.

18. Travel ban protesters put $24 million into ACLU coffers in just 48 hours, enabling them to hire 200 more attorneys. Lawyers are now heroes.

19. As people seek veracity in their news sources, respected news outlets are happily reporting a substantial increase in subscriptions, a boon to a struggling industry vital to our democracy.

20. Live streaming court cases and congressional sessions are now as popular as the Kardashians.

21. Massive cleanup of facebook friend lists.

22. People are reading classic literature again. Sales of George Orwell's "1984" increased by 10,000% after the inauguration. (Yes, that is true. 10,000%. 9th grade Lit teachers all over the country are now rock stars.)

23. More than ever before, Americans are aware that education is important. Like, super important.

24. Now, more than anytime in history, everyone believes that anyone can be President. Seriously, anyone." - Susan Keller

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

The Questing Beast is now available!






The Questing Beast is now available!

It's a new month and you know what that means - a new novel in the Veil Knights series!

I'm thrilled to announce the launch of The Questing Beast, Veil Knights #4. It's available on Amazon for just $0.99 for the next several days, before going up to full price by the end of the week, so get your copy soon if you want the best deal!

Get it now...


Destiny won’t be denied…

All their lives, Dani and Perce Pellin have known they were different. Raised in the backwoods of Colorado by a paranoid mother who taught them to hunt and survive while filling their heads with haunting stories of a family curse involving a mythical Beast, escaping to civilization and seeing the world for themselves is all the twins have ever dreamed of doing.

But then a man named Grimm invites them to a meeting in LA, a meeting where they discover that they are not as alone in this world as they had imagined themselves to be. Tasked with finding the blade of Llawfrodedd Farchog, one of the pieces of the Caeg Dimmre, Perce and Dani are sent back to the wilderness, this time deep into the heart of the Yukon Territories.

There they will discover that far more lurks in the woods than just bears and moose, and it will take all their skills to finish the quest.

For their mother wasn't mad, and the cursed Beast is very real...



Arthurian myth meets urban fantasy in this new series from Rowan Casey!

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

OF GODS AND MEN


OF GODS AND MEN:

Tim Lees’ “fuels” his latest Urban Fantasy with dead gods

STEAL THE LIGHTNING

Urban Fantasy has always been the ideal home for monsters and myths of all kinds, in that it allows the reader to imagine what it’d be like to interact with them in some semblance of the real world. However, Tim Lees goes a step beyond classic Urban Fantasy mythologies by including a panoply of Gods in his work—just, not as being to be worshipped. Rather, Lees’ latest Field Ops novel, STEAL THE LIGHTNING (on-sale 1/17/17), features gods not as religious icons or beings of immeasurable power, but as…a fuel source!

Our hero is god hunter Chris Copeland, tasked with tracking down an enigmatic figure distributing shards of deities to unwitting citizens across the country. Chris Copeland has a bizarre job, seeking out gods to convert into energy, but when he's tasked with retrieving a deity from an elderly woman in New York, he's truly out of his element. Before he can learn who sold her the dangerous object, she swallows a piece of it and goes into painful convulsions in front of his eyes.

Calling himself Johnny Appleseed, an elusive man has stolen fragments of gods and is traversing the country, peddling the contraband as a miracle cure to anyone desperate enough to believe him. With the help of his colleague, Angel, and a documentary filmmaker intent on exposing the Registry's secrets, Chris must chase down the culprit and recover the stolen gods before all hell breaks loose.

About Tim Lees:

Tim Lees is a British author living in Chicago. His short fiction has appeared in Postscripts, Black Static and Interzone, among many other publications. He is author of the collection The Life to Come, nominated for a British Fantasy Award, the novel Frankenstein’s Prescription, described by Publisher’s Weekly as “a philosophically insightful and literary tale of terror,” and the first two Field Ops novels, The God Hunter and Devil in the Wires, available from Harper Voyager. When not writing, Tim has held a wide variety of jobs, including teacher, conference organizer, film extra, and worker in a psychiatric hospital. He can be found on Twitter @TimLees2, and occasionally remembers to update his website at www.timlees.wordpress.com.

Friday, January 13, 2017

Newsletter from Donald M. Grant, Publishers


11 January 2017

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. OMAR RAYYAN - GOBLIN MARKET
2. LITTLE SISTERS OF ELURIA - DUST JACKET
3. DT III: THE WASTE LANDS - DUST JACKET
4. STEPHEN KING ARTIST/GIFT EDITIONS AVAILABLE
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Note - After our last Newsletter the Phil Hale signed DRAWING 
OF THE THREEs sold out within an hour.

Note - If your order is over $300.00 you may pay in 3 monthly
installments. Please say so in the Order Notes box when you
check out. Your order will be shipped to you after the final
payment is made.

Check out the re-vamped website at grantbooks.com

1. OMAR RAYYAN - GOBLIN MARKET

DONALD M. GRANT, PUBLISHER, INC. is proud to announce
the publication of Christina Rossetti’s GOBLIN MARKET, lavishly
interpreted by award winning artist Omar Rayyan.

Over one hundred drawings and watercolor paintings are packed
into this 88 page full color book. 10 x 12 inches, hardcover with a
printed dust jacket and an introduction written by Charles Vess.
Omar signed a number of books for us and these are available
while they last at no extra cost.

Retail price is $35.00 plus shipping and can be ordered at:

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/goblin-market/


2. LITTLE SISTERS OF ELURIA - DUST JACKET

We had listed the dust jackets for THE LITTLE SISTERS OF 
ELURIA as unavailable. We do have copies and they are now listed at:

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/little-sisters-of-eluria-dustjacket/


3. DT III: THE WASTE LANDS - DUST JACKET

Over the last few years a number of people have emailed us about
WASTE LANDS dust jackets. I’ve been trying to find them by
going through back emails without success. Sorry. We do have
dust jackets but they are not in perfect condition. They were
taken off books when we produced the DARK TOWER GIFT 
COLLECTION which included First Printings of THE WASTE 
LANDS. These jackets have been on books before and have
imperfections. We will try to send out ones without tears but
they are by no means perfect.

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/dark-tower-iii-the-waste-lands-imperfect-dustjacket/


3. STEPHEN KING ARTIST/GIFT EDITIONS AVAILABLE

Still available are the Artist Editions of THE DARK TOWER VII:
THE DARK TOWER (signed by Michael Whelan) and THE 
WIND THROUGH THE KEYHOLE (signed by Jae Lee) and the
slipcased Gift Edition of THE TALISMAN (signed by Peter
Straub and Rick berry) and BLACK HOUSE. Please note that
the two Artist Editions were released prior to the Trade Editions
and so are First Editions of these books. Links to the specific
pages are at:

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/wind-through-keyhole-artist/

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/dark-tower-vii-artist/

https://secure.grantbooks.com/product/black-house-talisman-gift/


Thank you.

Robert K. Wiener, President
Donald M. Grant, Publisher, Inc.